compie's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

you can't build cathedrals out of finger steeples

okay, so wow. it's been a really really long time since I've updated. I always feel like when I have a life, thats when the meaty shit worth writing about happens, but then, I never have the time or inclination to write. So yes, you, lucky reader, always read about me when I'm bored out of my mind.

so since my last entry, i've gotten the fuck over Aaron, applied and gotten into a summer with Greenpeace, and met some amazing people there and did some amazing things that I'm not over yet and hopefully never will be. I really feel like what I want to do for the rest of my life is organizing and activism. Okay, well some days I really just feel like sleeping all day or watching cartoons, but there is no other job as close to my heart then organizing for change is.

It's really hard to sum up my adventures this summer, and I've written half of it down in a journal so I don't forget (I plan on writing the other half relatively soon), so it seems sort of reduntant to rewrite it here. Basically, I lived in DC for the summer with 6 other people in the program, my roommate was Australian. We had trainings everyday at the GP office in Chinatown, then we went to Wisconsin and kicked some ass there with a campaign called Kleercut (http://www.kleercut.net). Then, we drove all the way back (22 hours) to DC (after making a pit stop in Ohio where we went with Jami and her girlfriend to a random gay bar, which was awesome), learned how to drive the zodiac boats used in whale missions (and others), learned how to climb with pulleys and shunts and three points of protection. Then, we hopped on a plane, and went to Germany for a week. We lived on a boat there, and worked our asses off in the daytime doing random oddjobs for the GP Germany warehouse team, got some more amazing boat ad climbing training, went to a German commune, had some of the best beer and pot ever, etc etc. We also went to a club called the Golden Pudel, where I met a boy named Sebastian who's never been outside of Hamburg besides being born in Poland. We talked for hours and made out, and I miss him, although its kind of cool that I'll never see him again and our one night relationship will never sour. Although I sort of wish i could see him again...but anyway, yeah. Germany. We came back, went to a conference, did some other awesome stuff, met more people, and had a lot of parties on the way of the whole adventure. Lots of stories. It was a whirlwind of a summer. I miss everyone so much. 23 other kids did it with me, and theyre all amazing.

So now I've been home from my said adventures for almost 2 weeks. Life here is pretty humdrum. Haven't been doing much.

What I can say is that I feel better then I ever have (generally speaking, at least), and its because of my summer. I feel like I grew a lot in a very short amount of time. I felt more alive this summer then I ever have. I went camping for the first time, saw my first shooting star, made out with 6 different people, drove a boat at full speed, floated in the Chesapeake, almost died in the Elbe river, danced my ass off....etc etc.

So yeah. Now I'm packing for college. Sort of. I packed one box and I'm not making a list of other things to pack. That's what I'm saving tomorrow for I guess. This year will be a lot different. I hope in good ways.

Seth will be living in my dorm and will be in Art Scholars, which really sucks. One, because it feels like I can't escape my past no matter how much I feel freed from it, and Two, because he's kind of embarrassing. But whatever, I'm really happy that he won't be living on my floor at least. I can avoid him. What I am worried about though, in the back of my head, is falling into the Aaron trap again. With him, or possibly someone else. I feel though, as of right now, that I'm perfectly fine with not obsessing about anyone. This summer I met a ton of boys. Some, who I vaguely liked. But I did well for myself and didn't get attatched to anyone (at least not in the romantic sense, I miss all the guys as friends), which is really amazing for me because everytime I go anywhere I always think I find a soulmate. Fuck that. Seriously. It's a waste of time, and when I find someone worthwhile then they'll actually think I'm worthwhile too. But I don't really care at the moment anyway. blah blah blah. Anyway, I really just hope I don't fall into any desparate depression like how it was with Aaron. I've had enough of that crap with useless boys.

So yeah, this semester will be...interesting. I'm going to be working on the campus climate challenge. So, wish me luck.

I'll write sometime, I don't know when.

2:15 a.m. - 2006-08-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

candor
realitychic
kitty83187
xspeechlessx
chupacaubra
Angel-a.
meowsaykitty
ann-drew
BigDeal25
crazythinker
grifgirl
camaromolly
pookah
autumnrhythm
lemondeath